Franklin D. Roosevelt Distinguished Public Service Awards

About the Awards

The FDR Distinguished Public Service Awards honor individuals whose careers exemplify President Roosevelt’s extraordinary dedication to public service and seek to inspire a renewed national commitment to the principals for which FDR stood.

Change can take a lifetime, and the men and women we honor have dedicated their lives to the public good, never limiting themselves to what seemed possible when they began. Each year, we celebrate their courage, commitment, and values at a ceremony in Washington, DC.

For more information on the 2015 Awards, please click here.

2015 Honorees

Senator Elizabeth Warren

Representative Xavier Becerra

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers International President Edwin D. Hill

Past Distinguished Public Service Award Recipients


Senator Tom Harkin

Congressman George Miller

Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro


The Honorable Barney Frank

International Brotherhood of the Teamsters President James P. Hoffa

The Honorable Chris Dodd

US Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Lisa P. Jackson


Senator Jeff Bingaman

Senator Richard Durbin

AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka


Congressman John Dingell

Senator Thomas Daschle